My 10 Must-Have Android Apps

I’ve been using a Blackberry for the past five years, including a two-week rendezvous on a Samsung Galaxy S 4g. After a week with the phone I knew it wasn’t a match made in heaven so I went back to my Blackberry with the mindset that I would eventually go back to Android, once I met my match. On Friday afternoon I re-entered the world of Android with a Samsung Galaxy S2. I fell in love with this phone when it was announced at Mobile World Congress in February. I mean, look at the phone, it’s gorgeous! The specs are to die for and as soon as Ice Cream Sandwich is released there will be no stopping this beast, but back to apps.

One of the things that I love about Android is their market. Blackberry has increased the number of applications they offer, to over 43,000, but they cannot compete with the Android Market’s 250,000+ applications. I feel like a kid in a candy store. With that many apps how can you make sure you find the ones that best suit you? For me it’s trial and error mixed in with a little bit of luck.

  1. Barcode Scanner – I was always a little jealous of smart phones that were able to get quickly ad easily get information and also score nifty deals. Now I don’t have to be jealous anymore.
  2. Foursquare – I’ve gotten retain my mayorships of my local park and this is the only way I’ll be able to showcase my growing number of badges I never got as a Girl Scout.
  3. Little Photo – This is a powerful little app that definitely goes head to head and outshines any similar app. Adding a site where you can store and retrieve photos may render some photography apps obsolete.
  4. picplz – I enjoy the fact that you can load photos, apply filters, and then tweet and tumble them. It’s definitely an answer to those that cannot get Instagram.
  5. Scoutmob – Who doesn’t love a 50% discount? Being able to score deals without having to check the website daily and send/save text messages or spend any money  upfront is a win-win deal for me. The offers are currently available in 13 cities with 7 additional cities up next to receive great deals.
  6. Shazam – I am the person that always hears some really amazing song, but I have no idea who the artist is. This app is a dream come true because it’s very likely to figure out a song title a lot quicker than I can.
  7. Spotify – Although they have only recently entered the US market, Spotify has taken music streaming by storm. Granted, you need a premium account to use the mobile application, but it’s worth it. As far as I know there isn’t another application on the market where you can access your music offline.
  8. Tumblr – This is the mobile version of the micro-blogging site that I use on a regular basis.
  9. TweetCaster – On a Blackberry my choice was UberSocial, but I wanted to try something new. So far so good with this app. I can easily switch between Twitter accounts, check out trending topics, and navigate the application. The only thing I haven’t been able to do is save hashtags for easy reuse.
  10. Words With Friends – I have always enjoyed a good game of Scrabble and thanks to this app I can continue to do so on my phone. Should there be as equally as good Taboo application created, I’m pretty sure I would need to carry my charger with me at all times.

Keep in mind I only have two weeks of experience exploring the Android apps. I’m sure there will be additional apps that I will get lots of use out of. I do plan on testing out Advanced Task Killer in order to keep apps from draining my battery, I just haven’t had the chance to with all my toying around with other apps.

What are your favorite apps in the Android Market?

3 thoughts on “My 10 Must-Have Android Apps

Leave a Reply

