Do You Live To Travel?

I know I do! I’m not sure when my love for traveling started, but I do believe that it was passed on from my parents. They met abroad and spent many years traveling the world. That paired with living all over the US left me to want to see more of the world.

As a child I would write fictional stories about families living in Africa at the turn of the 20th century.  I even joined pen pal agencies and corresponded with a girl in China and another in Japan. Nowadays I wouldn’t advise giving your home address to someone you  met over the internet. Since this was before internet I assume the pen pal agency screened the applicants although I don’t remember what information was required. I didn’t get a passport until after I graduated college which means I have a lot of lost time to make up for.

As mentioned in a previous post, my overall goal is 100 countries and all 50 states which makes for at least 150 destinations. As of now I have 102 more destinations until I meet my goal, I’m almost 33% there. I’ve always been curious about those that have spent their entire life in one state, some people haven’t even left their own town. What keeps someone from leaving the nest? Is it a lack of drive to see the rest of the world, simply due to lack of funds, or is it a fear of leaving your comfort zone? I definitely don’t have the answer but I know that once you start you just can’t stop. I guess this is how coffee drinkers feel.

I’ve come to the realization that without the opportunity to see the world, or even get a change of scenery, on a regular basis I would be a pretty unhappy individual.I’ve created a pretty ambitious itinerary for myself that includes a blend of domestic and international travel. I’m pretty excited and I’m still looking for activities to fill my weekends with when I can’t make it across the Atlantic. I’m still curious to know why some people don’t travel, even it’s one weekend a year.

I’m pretty sure I’m not the only one who learned about the Great Lakes, the Great Wall, and the Mayan ruins in school. Why not go beyond the textbooks and computer screen and really see ’em first hand? I finally made my pilgrimage to my state’s capital, and although Buffalo isn’t a dream destination, it was an interesting city with a lot of history. With low-cost options like Jetblue, Southwest, Spirit, Virgina America, and even Megabus, if you have a fear of flying, what’s the excuse?

I live to travel, do you?

Leave a Reply

