#5 Checked off the Bucket “Life” List

Finally, I get the chance to cross something else off my bucket list. I had initially planned on skydiving with friends for my birthday but plans changed thanks to an opportunity to travel I decided I was going to try it while I was away. I found a place called Parachute Center in Lodi, CA which is about two hours outside of San Francisco. The best part about it was the price of course. I could have done a dive and landed on the beach in Santa Cruz or jumped from a plane over the Rocky Mountains but I figured the most economical place for a first jump was Parachute Center.

I headed out pretty early on a weekday to make sure that I was able to jump without too long of a wait time. Within two minutes of my arrival I was harnessed and prepped before the plane arrived to whisk me 13,000 feet into so I could jump, just for fun!

I can say that I didn’t feel a rush when we headed up and I can’t say that I felt a rush when I looked out the window once we leveled off, and I doubt I can say I felt a rush when I leaped out of the plane but the experience is one that I will never forget. Once I got the breathing part down it was all smooth free-falling until we made it to about 5,000 feet and then the parachute opened and I got to enjoy a little time controlling the chute. I opted out of the photo/video packages, I figured I would remember it as long as I needed to and if I needed to re-experience the jump I can always do it again.

I would definitely suggest trying skydiving if you’ve never done it. It is an extreme recreational activity/sport but the adrenaline rush is worth it, if even for only a few moments.

Leave a Reply

